OBXer

Hockey 101

If you are new to hockey or new to the board, Don't Be Shy, Post your questions, observations and comments here. We were all hockey newbies at one time. Board Members will try and help you enjoy the Greatest Game on Ice.

Hello, dear OBXer, I'm very new to such a thing (I consider stupid) as co-captaincy. Do you know any other recent (or not so) cases of it in the NHL? Do you think we should add a third one next season when black jerseys are back?

I doubt this is unprecedented in the NHL, but it's freakin' rare. In 45 years of following this league I've never seen it. And I'm right there with you, Ryazan: It's stupid, and then some. It shows, by turns, indecision, incompetence, and very possibly fear about ******* somebody off. Except, apparently, Jeff Skinner.

Yesterday I joked about a captain controversy to start the season. Today we have one, as far as I'm concerned. 

• Like 2

37 minutes ago, RyazanCaniac said:

Hello, dear OBXer, I'm very new to such a thing (I consider stupid) as co-captaincy. Do you know any other recent (or not so) cases of it in the NHL? Do you think we should add a third one next season when black jerseys are back?

Agree is it unusual to have co-captains.  I don't like it.  What I DO like, RyazanCaniac, is that you dressed up for the new season.  Very spiffy.  :)

• Like 1

Didn't some team switch off captains every month a few years back?  That's goofy too but at least it's one guy at a time.

I like Ryazan's thought of having a third captain when they bring back the blacks.  And we could always introduce different captains based on foe - Staal can be the captain for home games against Eastern Conference teams, Rask for Western... Faulk for Eastern road games, Skinner for Western road games.  With a special clause that Lindholm gets the C every-other Thursday...

Edited by realmdrakkar
  • Like 2