The Official Site of the Carolina Hurricanes
Sign in to follow this  
remkin

NHL Draft 2020

So, the NHL is pushing to move it's draft up possibly about a month away. Might as well start to look at it. Certainly the general topic is open for discussion: how, when, why? 

Also though, the idea of who we might take is always worth some looks. 

I'll start with a couple of very broad posts.

OK, so I wanted to look at what sort of players might be available for our pick. If we do the draft in early June it will be points percentage. This would put us at #19 with Toronto's pick and ours traded to Florida. So, barring a trade up (constant wish, never happens), who might be there at #19? 

A few observations and assumptions on my part. The observations are true, the assumptions are my guess. 

At this point, my analysis is 100% based on my patented ranking/mock draft culmination software (me adding things up). I have no knowledge of any of the players in our range of the draft yet. This is in part to throw out a few names to find out about. 

Observation: this is a very forward heavy top of draft. Forwards dominate, at least the top 2/3 of the mock drafts and rankings.

Observation: the top 10 is pretty locked down, and really fair to say the top 13 are out of play for us at 19. I'll list them, but not consider them.

Observation: someone always drops, so you never know, but I see us going forward, and 10-13 are D and goalies, so really I doubt any forward in the top 10 drop to us.

Assumption: We take a forward. This is based on three major things.